Skip to main content
AVS Logo
文字 中文 TXT Contact us
About AVS

Agency for Volunteer Service (AVS), founded in 1970, is a non profit organization mainly financed by funds from the Government of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region, The Community Chest of Hong Kong, The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust, and public and private donations. With the vision to build a civil society and caring community, AVS is dedicated to playing a proactive and pivotal role in the promotion and development of sustainable volunteerism, and to develop partnership with all sectors of the community to provide value added and quality volunteer service.

AVS mobilizes and organizes volunteer service. It offers referral service for those who wish to volunteer and supports organizations requiring the service of volunteers. Interested individuals and organizations are welcome to register as a member of AVS Hong Kong Community Volunteers. To expand the scope of volunteer opportunities, AVS launches innovative and impactful volunteer programmes in partnership with different organizations. Mega events like WTO Hong Kong Ministerial Conference, ITU Telecom World, “Share-to-Care” Volunteer Campaign, Hong Kong 2009 East Asian Games Volunteer Programme and Hong Kong Transplant Sports Games were notable examples. To capitalize the talent and skills of volunteers to assist the disadvantaged, the Volunteer Talent Bank Specialized Service Teams provide quality volunteer service of photography, home safety, health care, hair-cutting, community tour guide, social inclusion, information technology, etc.

To strengthen volunteers’ competence, and to enhance the quality and effectiveness of volunteer service, AVS established the first Volunteer Training and Development Centre in Hong Kong in 2003 to deliver diversified training and professional consultancy for volunteers and volunteer-involving organizations as well. The “Volunteer Link” serves as a resource platform, and publications and audio-visual aids are produced for effective volunteer service management. In line with the implementation of the New Senior Secondary Curriculum, AVS launched the 4C Youth Volunteer Leadership Project since 2009 with a view to develop secondary students’ personal qualities, foster a healthy personality and civic awareness through volunteer training and service experience.

In 2011, AVS has drawn up the Hong Kong Volunteer Charter as a reference guide to volunteers and volunteer-involving organizations for promoting quality volunteer practice. With the Charter being the basis, the Hong Kong Institute of Volunteers was established in 2012, dedicated to advancing volunteerism and promoting excellence in volunteering.

AVS fosters volunteerism through a range of promotion, public education and volunteer recognition programmes. The Hong Kong Volunteer Award, Heroic Volunteer Award, Professional Volunteer Service Accreditation Programme, Leadership Bauhinia Volunteer Award and the International Volunteer Day Celebrations on the 5th December each year are organized to promote volunteer values and to raise public recognition on the volunteer contributions. The Hong Kong Volunteer Awardees Society founded in 2009 aimed to pool the strengths and experiences of the Award recipients offers a platform for idea exchange and experience sharing, spreading the spirit of volunteerism to serve the community.

In conjunction with representative organizations from different sectors, the Hong Kong Council of Volunteering was set up in 2004 as a cross-sectoral platform for exchange and collaboration to cultivate broader participation in volunteering and for member organizations working together to advance the development of volunteering.

Internationally, AVS is a cooperating organization of the United Nations Volunteers (UNV) to promote the UNV Programme and to encourage the participation of professionals and youth in volunteering worldwide. AVS is also the International Association for Volunteer Effort Representative for Hong Kong, sending delegates to attend international and regional volunteer conferences for exchange and networking with volunteer organizations abroad.

Vision
AVS is dedicated to playing a proactive and pivotal role in the promotion and development of sustainable volunteerism for the building of a civil society and caring community.
Mission
AVS motivates, mobilizes and facilitates individuals, groups and organizations to provide value added and quality volunteer service through partnership with all sectors of the community and other effective means.
Values
  • Human Dignity
  • Care and Share
  • Innovativeness
  • Community Oriented
  • Cost-effectiveness
  • Quality
  • Partnership
  • Professionalism
  • Sense of Fulfillment

跳至主要內容
義務工作發展局
TXT ENG 文字
聯絡我們
義務工作發展局簡介

義務工作發展局(義工局)1970年成立,為非牟利機構。經費主要來自香港特別行政區政府、香港公益金、香港賽馬會慈善信託基金,以及各界的捐助。義工局致力承擔樞紐角色,與社會各界建立夥伴關係,合力推動義工參與,促使提供增值及優質的義工服務,以締造一個互愛關懷的社會。

義工局提供義工轉介服務,為市民提供義務工作機會,並為需要義工協助的機構找尋合適人選。有興趣參與義務工作的人士,可加入本局香港義工團成為會員。為拓展義務工作範疇,義工局與各界夥伴合作,策劃切合社會需要和具成效的義工服務計劃,如大型項目「世貿組織香港部長級會議」、「世界電訊展」、「愛心傳城義工大行動」、「香港2009東亞運動會」及「香港移植運動會」等。為善用義工專長和技能,義工局設立「專才義工網」,為非牟利機構及弱勢社群提供優質專業服務。現有服務隊包括:攝影、家居維修、健康護理、理髮、社區導遊、社區共融及資訊科技等。

義工局致力培訓義工的能力,提升服務質素及成效。2003年成立香港首間「義工培訓發展中心」,舉辦不同類型的訓練課程予義工和運用義工的人士,提供組織及管理義工的專業顧問服務,設立「義工資訊網」,並製作教材和出版刊物,務求讓義工資源得以有效運用。2009年開展「4C青年義工領袖計劃」,配合新高中學制,透過義工訓練及義務工作,培育青少年的健全品格及公民意識。

義工局2011年訂定《香港義工約章》,為義工、義工領袖和運用義工人士提供參考指引和服務準則。以約章為基礎,2012年成立「香港義工學會」,進一步深化義務工作精神及推動優質義務工作。

義工局透過推廣及社會教育計劃,喚起公眾人士認同及重視義務工作的貢獻,宣揚義務工作的精神和價值,並定期舉辦「香港傑出義工獎」、「義勇獎」、「專業人士義工服務嘉許計劃」、「紫荊領袖義工獎」及12月5日國際義工日慶祝活動等,嘉許義工的貢獻和成就。2009年成立的「香港傑出義工會」,匯聚各屆「香港傑出義工獎」得主的力量和經驗,提供一個理念交流和經驗分享的平台,傳揚義務工作精神,服務社群。

2004年,義工局聯同各界團體成立「香港義務工作議會」,建立跨界別的交流及協作平台 ,促進議會成員機構密切合作,推動義務工作的發展。 

在國際層面,義工局是聯合國義工計劃組織的合作機構,協助推廣聯合國義工計劃,推動及鼓勵專業人士及青年義工參與不同領域國際義工服務。本局亦是國際義工協會的香港代表,每年派出代表參與國際及地區會議,促進義務工作的交流和發展。

抱負

義務工作發展局致力承擔樞紐角色,積極推動及發展持續的義務工作,以締造一個文明和關懷的社群。

使命

透過與社會各界建立夥伴關係,及其他有效途徑,義務工作發展局致力鼓勵、推動和促進各機構、團體及個人提供增值及優質的義工服務。

信念
  • 人性尊嚴
  • 關懷分享
  • 創意更新
  • 社會導向
  • 服務效益
  • 優質服務
  • 夥伴關係
  • 專業精神
  • 服務滿足感